For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Dog Park Question
  • I wanted some advice from people who have been through this. Our dog park has 2 areas, one for small dogs and 1 for large. The small dog side is very small and there are rarely dogs in there at all. Kishi prefers to play with the large dogs. She is pretty rough. I used to own a high prey drive Borzoi who could have killed a dog like Kishi in a split second. Is it fair and or safe for me to let her play with the big dogs? Are there unwritten dog park rules? I am new to the dog park thing so any advice would be appreciated.
  • Mika chooses to play with big dogs..I watch her very closely tho....Sometimes I have to carry her past the entrance where the big dogs gather because they are going at it pretty rough
    Fred and Jodie...Madison WI

**Mika....The Shiba Inu**

**Zoey....The Schipperke**
  • LosechLosech
    My dog park doesn't have big or little dog sections, and there is almost never a problem with bigger dogs playing with the little ones. The park is big enough that if someone wants to, they can move off somewhere else and not be bothered.

I actually prefer non-separated dog parks so Conker can interact with dogs of all sizes.

But my general rule is: If there's a dog of any size going after Conker in a malicious way and the owner won't leave (my dog park has an actual written rule that if someone's dog is aggressive they have to leave) then I won't risk the safety of mine and I'll be the one to go.
  • cmed24cmed24