For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Introducing new dogs and living in a multi-dog household
  • hondruhondru
    That other thread about adding a second shiba made me think that we should have an article on introducing new dogs to a pack! Also I noticed that Jessica asked me for any tips I'd give and for some reason I missed that and didn't respond before - sorry about that.

Here's my method for introducing dogs. Feel free to comment or disagree with me, or add whatever input.  I'm by no means an expert, this is just what I have come up with after reading up on the subject and after my experience introducing three dogs to each other.

Introduce dogs for the first time outside on neutral territory. Make sure you have someone else with you as you will need at least two people to safely break up a dog fight, should one occur. If you already have multiple dogs, introduce them one at a time, starting with the friendliest dog. Don't give your dogs a chance to gang up on the new one!

Dogs tend to respond better to each other when not on lead, so a securely fenced in area is ideal. If you're unsure how the dogs will react and don't want to let them freely interact right off the bat, introduce them through a chainlink fence until they get used to each other. You can also leave their leashes attached to their collars for them to drag once they are freely interacting.

If one of the dogs is significantly dog aggressive, you may want to hire a dog behaviourist to attend the meeting and guide you, especially if you are inexperienced or unsure of yourself. Make sure it's someone whose judgement you trust and preferrably who is familiar with you and your current dogs.