For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Interesting new test for FOOD ALLERGIES using saliva
  • curlytailscurlytails
    Post edited by sunyata at 2012-08-09 09:29:36
  • shibamistressshibamistress
  • LosechLosech
    This is cool! I'm gonna wait to see if the price drops first before trying it. I don't know if Conker's "allergies" are actually that or not, but so far anytime he gets whatever those items are he itches like bonkers and has other bad reactions to it. It would be nice to know for sure if he really was allergic to some of that stuff without having to spend tons of money.
  • curlytailscurlytails
  • shibamistressshibamistress
  • kumaDUDEkumaDUDE
    Sounds amazing!
  • tatonkatatonka
    Post edited by tatonka at 2012-10-22 07:43:29
  • lindsaytlindsayt
  • ShibaLoveShibaLove
    Ok I am no food allergy vs intolerance expert here but I am studying Immunology and know a bit about antigens, immunoglobulins (Ig) and their distribution in the body, and allergic responses (hypersensitivities).

First, antigens are just a name for what an antibody is recognizing or binding to. In this sense all of the proteins in your body can be or have been an antigen. In addition, each protein in your body can contain multiple antigens because the antibody can recognize multiple pieces of a protein. If the protein was a 10 bead string and the antibody can bind one bead at a time, there could be up to 10 antigens. This gets more complicated though because an antibody can recognize multiple "beads" so antigens can overlap.