For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
hunger vomiting
  • mamfiemamfie
    HI guys,
    I'm relatively new to Shiba Inu membership, Kita has on two occasions now early in the morning has thrown up yellow foamy stuff, I have been doing a bit of research and have read that some times 'larger breeds' do this if they are hungry, I know kita is a big dog in a small body but I was wondering if any one else has a shiba does this?
  • sjp051993sjp051993
    some dogs will do that if their stomach is empty. Try feeding a small snack before bedtime and see if that helps.
  • Serkle kSerkle k
    My girlfriend's dog, Micha does that every now and then. We noticed a while back that he won't eat unless we are near or with him. And so every now and then he would just not eat, and then he'll vomit. It's like bile. And we usually try to leave some food available for him to eat when he gets hungry. But again, he won't eat unless we are with him. We have been able to get him on more of a schedule, and that has seemed to help as he has not done this in quite a while, but we make sure there is always just a small amount of food left in case he gets hungry during the day and we are not home.
  • wliu003wliu003
    While I think vomiting is always a serious situation and should be consulted with a vet, I do have some experience in this area that might help.