For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
New Dog Owners: Dog Food 101
  • SangmortSangmort
    I've noticed we had an influx of new members, many of whom are 1st time dog / puppy owners or people looking into getting pups. As such, I would like to stress the importance of food & how it effects your dog :) However, I am no expert so I leave it to the senior members & complete dog experts to correct me & put me in my place! :D

---

Just like your own body, food is extremely important for dogs. Can you imagine if all you ever ate was Burger King every day how unhealthy you would be? Well, it's the same for your dog, if anything, dogs are even more sensitive to certain foods. In addition, many dogs, & the nihon ken are no exception, are very prone to what we call food allergies. Essentially, this means there are components in dog food that can cause harmful things to happen to your pup. Some are small such as runny stools [ poop ] but some can be large resulting in things like bald patches, skin irritation, & poor overall health.

I assume everyone loves their puppies & want to give them the absolute best they can give them. This doesn't stop at love & attention, the exercise & food you give them are extremely important too! That is why it is essential to find the highest quality food that you can comfortably afford.