For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Teacher lifestyle and a Shiba
  • haikuu_shibahaikuu_shiba
    Hey guys!

I'm still doing research and I didn't find any posts regarding this question. Are any of you teachers? I'm a high school teacher and I'm concerned about the teacher schedule and taking care of a dog. I'm hoping that when I'm ready to adopt, I'll be able to do so in the summer months or during the winter break. However, I know that this is no guarantee. If you guys have any experience/advice, it'd be appreciated!

[mod edit: changed category]
    Post edited by sunyata at 2017-05-09 11:45:06
  • JackStateJackState
    My fiance is a teacher. We got Ichabod in the summer precisely because we didn't want to introduce a new dog to the household when she might be gone to work for 9 - 11 hours and me for 9.5 hours. Schedules slightly offset so he has 8 hours by himself on a good weekday, less if I come home for lunch. Do you sponsor any extracurriculars too?

We were really glad to have two people to split the duties, because they need a lot of attention when you subtract your workday and sleep time.
    @Jack State I currently don't sponsor any extracurriculars and I'm not sure if I will in the future. It is just me though, which is why I'm quite concerned about the timing... You're really lucky to have someone else who can help you out! Ichabod looks adorable by the way =)
  • gakugaku
    Hello~

I am a high school teacher as well. But, as with JackState, there are two of us for the caretaking. My husband and I have a shifted work schedule so Gaku is alone for about 6~7 hours usually. I don't stay after school unless I have to. I have an "appointment calendar" where students schedule to meet with me outside of class time. This gives me the flexibility to leave whenever I need and not worry that I am not meeting my students needs.