For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
How I got my Shiba to be friends with cats
  • BasBas
    Disclaimer: this worked for me. It might not work for you. This is only information on how I got this to work.
    Do not just copy my strategy. You are responsible for your pets safety! A shiba can kill a cat! And a cat can really mess up a shiba to!

I got my Yuki as a rescue dog when he was 6. When you have a puppy, it think it would be rather easy to get him to be friends with the local housecat. I have no experience with that.

It also depends on the cat(s). If they are kittens themselves they wont mind growing up with a dog, I guess.
    If they had very negative experiences with dogs in general, you might have to overcome a lot of anxiety with the cat, which can be a stressful affair, since you also have to calm the dog down at the same time. Help from another person could be handy (so one can calm the cat, while you calm your dog).

Since Shiba's like to hunt small animals, I was not very surprised when the rescue dog I got reacted to cats as if they where prey, trying to run to them to get them, barking. He violently chased away the neighbors cat from the garden. We had to install a fence to keep him from chasing the cat.

First thing I had to do, as Yuki was a rescue dog, was establish dominance. At first, he was trying to be the group leader. That was why he had to be rescued in the first place: biting his owners. He did try to bite me and my girlfriend. But we did not back down. We took control. Established dominance, in a passive way (not violent!).

For example, when Yuki was outside, and got sight of the neighbors cat, he would rush to the fence and start barking at her. I would then position myself between him and the fence, and told him to sit. If he would not listen, I would push his butt down. I would ask 'paw', and or 'down', so he lies down.