For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Shiba nose mystery
  • Hi, I just signed up to this forum to get an answer to my question. My Shiba girl is almost a year old now and she has been the light of my life. About a week ago someone asked me if shibas are meant to have split noses as my shiba does. After numerous google image searches, I don't think I've seen another shiba with a split nose!
    I know both her parents and I'm still in contact with them. They both have "normal" noses.
    I also have my shibas pedigree certificate which maps her pedigree lineage.
    I have no idea why she has a split nose or the implication of this. Can someone PLEASE shed some light on the mystery??

[mod edit: changed category]
    Post edited by sunyata at 2016-06-27 07:51:29
  • I don't know if the images work. If you Instagram: heart_nosed_shiba there are a collection of her pictures.
  • spacedogsspacedogs
    I'm no expert but I once owned a pair of Tatra sheep dogs, one of which had a cleft palate that caused his nose to be "deformed" just like that. This was well before the advent of digital cameras and 5 years before moving back to Canada (so maybe 25 years ago?) so I'm not sure if/where I have any pictures of him to show how similar it looks.

Not saying your dog has a cleft palate but it could very well be some form of palate deformity that has caused the nose to split like that. Ask your Vet!

Edit: just wanted to add, she's really really cute and very unique looking!
    Post edited by spacedogs at 2016-06-22 15:14:22
  • Yojimbo_90Yojimbo_90
    I already follow your girl, she is adorable even if her nose isn't normal!
  • niki82niki82
    Hi @Rebzilla91 I can't see the pics but will go check out the pics. I'm sure your pup is just beautiful. I don't know anything about "split noses" but there are plenty of experienced forum members so I'm sure one of them will come along and help you soon. :)