For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Attention problems?
  • I've really been getting into training Shiro some new tricks. Such as down, paw, crawl, and come( he sits on command pretty well) but I'm having trouble with him concentrating on me. I know we should be making him make eye contact but (especially when training for paw) he is so great driven that he's searching my hand that has nothing in it when I go for his paw. I hope I'm explaining this correctly. Anything that can help me would help!
  • I ran into this problem as well and I think this might help you out. I am by no means an expert at training but you should check out Zac Georges youtube page for dog training. His methods work and are not aggressive. He has so many videos it makes for hours of learning.
  • BootzBootz
    Are you showing him treats to bribe him to do tricks?
  • I have the same problem with Hoshi... once you show her the treat, all she looks at is the treats... then something floats pass, like a clump of fur or a leaf, and BAM... attention shifted... its like she has severe ADHD...
    Hoshi - Red, 6 months old, silly.
    Post edited by Narcolepsy at 2014-09-25 22:07:34
  • BootzBootz
    @Narcolepsy

Yeah, this is why I asked if the original poster is "bribing". This is exactly what you're doing, bribing. You are not suppose to bribe your shiba, you are suppose to reward them. Totally different mindset.

When you bribe, you show them the prize they would get if they obey, they analyze if the treat is worth the effort. If it is, they do any and all tricks they know to try to obtain the treat, instead of listening to you and processing what you want.

When you reward, you don't show them the prize, they perform the trick/command your requested in HOPES they get a reward. Rewards can be treats, praise, toy, etc. By switching up rewards, it changes things up for them do they don't always expect something edible.