For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Independent Pet Food Nutrition Study
  • RyuDragonRyuDragon
    I was browsing Dog Star Daily today and I came across an interesting article regarding a study on dog food. I have placed the link for the article as well as a website that has links at the bottom of the page for the study itself. I looked up my brand of food (Wellness Core Original) and I was surprised that it didn't rank higher given the reviews I have seen on Dog Food Advisor. Now I'm not an expert on these things by any mean,s but I do try to do my homework. I thought this might be an interesting study for us to discuss on the forum. This study was written by a grad student studying for Veterinary school and uses a modified version Goldstein's Wellness and Longevity program (which I know nothing about).

http://www.ziwipeak.com/a-winning-formula-in-independent-pet-food-research/

http://www.dogstardaily.com/blogs/dr-ian-dunbar/pet-food-and-canine-nutrition-best-brands
  • LoreliLoreli
    I would like to see the rest of their ranking. I feed my dogs and cats Blue Buffalo and have never heard a bad thing about the food except maybe the price compared to the supermarket brands. I'm willing to accept that when they are getting the stuff in it they are supposed to be.

What does everyone else feed?
  • RyuDragonRyuDragon
    There are two links at the bottom of the ziwipeak page. One just explains the methodology and the other has all the rankings. Thats how I saw where my brand ranked. Blue Buffalo is also included along with 250 plus other brands.
  • INU RYUUINU RYUU
  • HaloHalo
    I feed Halo blue buffalo but only the grain free ones. I would go with a better one, but can't afford it right now. I would like to switch her to a even better quality of food in the future.
  • lindsaytlindsayt
    Post edited by lindsayt at 2013-05-29 21:51:39
  • SayaSaya
    Post edited by Saya at 2013-05-29 22:18:04