For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Getting a Puppy
  • AngelusAngelus
    So this summer I am getting a puppy from an AKC breeder in Oregon. I have a deposit on a companion pup and I am aiming for a black and tan male, but I really just want a male, I think all the coats are beautiful, I have just always had boy animals! They are expected to be ready by mid-July (with current delivery date estimation).

I am aware of the Shiba's temperament (been researching for a year and a half now, head hurting :P). I'm ready for a puppy mentally and financially, but I want some advice from some veteran owners for good measure. I know I'm not a pro here with some research and talking with breeders!

1. Anything that took you guys by surprise I should watch out for? Puppy or Shiba-specific? I'm a first-time dog owner, but have a lot of animal experience (a LOT) and a lot of dog experience, just always lived in apartments!

2. I have a cat. He's neutered, very attached to me, very calm and loving. He's a mutt but mostly Norwegian Forest cat or Turkish Angora, he's 13lbs and pretty big- not fat, but low energy. He's never shared before, and while I know he wont hurt the dog (he would just run away), I don't want them to just coexist, I would like them to like each other! I'm much more confident the dog will like my cat than my cat liking the dog actually. He's just so scared, and the one hyper puppy he met for half a second he couldn't have run away fast enough (he didn't get hurt by the dog, it was just an excited puppy -on a leash- and my cat was very surprised by the strange new beast in his house haha). Any advice about 6yo cats with new puppies?

3. Last but not least- dog stuff!
    Collars: I'm thinking buckle nylon until adult to save me money if he destroys it + outgrowing them. Puppy size?