For all new members, please check out the thread New to the Forum? What to do and forum guidelines.
Shiba elders--health issues and more
  • I thought I'd start a thread on Shiba elders, because I'm sure I'm not the only one dealing with Shibas who are getting older, and it might be useful for others to know what to expect. I've only had one old dog of my own, a GSD who we lost to cancer 3 years ago, so I'm still kind of new to aging dog issues. (I've had family dogs that were old, of course, but was not responsible for their care).

My Shiba Toby turned 9 this year, which in Shibas is not that old--lets say more middle aged I hope!--but I've noticed that he seems like an old dog kind of suddenly. He sleeps more and seems content to just lay in the sun. He does have a number of not age related health issues: he has mild LP and is hypothyroid, and we believe he is developing Cushings. He's not in the greatest health--he's pretty fat and we can't get his weight down, and there's something going on with him that makes him unable to tolerate much exercise, poor boy, so I can't even do much with walking off the weight, though we do go for short walks. He's losing his hair too, which we think is part of the possible Cushings thing, so my poor boy just doesn't look his best, but luckily, he doesn't care!